Messy Red – revised

I

I wear red to face the day,
come on, root chakra,
kick in! Give me strength!

II

How many shades, I wonder,
in the spectrum,
of opaque, translucent, variegated
openings of red?

III

Red courses through my legs
straight to my heart.

IV

Strawberry gleam
in a crystal dish,
a woman pouts
as a man pours on
thick cream.

V

Red patent shoes
with red soles
sullied with mud,
she dips her handkerchief
in a puddle
and sits on the pavement
to clean them.

VI

Red candy
swirls in a lollipop,
a little girl skips
on a grey winter’s day.

VII

Red woollen coats
somehow feel warmer
than navy blue.

VIII

A man and a woman
walk arm in arm in the wind,
her crimson scarf
caresses his cheek,
their eyes look ahead,
breathlessly.

IX

Red inflections floating
on a sunny day,
eyes shut enthralled.

X

I shall carry
a single red carnation
so that you know me.

XI

A new lipstick
in a shiny black case,
red courage, of course.

XII

Red lip prints
on random shop windows
tell secrets
to those
who follow…

XIII

I become glorious red
in all its messy shades.

Each stanza is less than 140 characters – I have followed Sam’s suggestion and extended this into a 13 part poem following Wallace Stevens “Thirteen Ways of Looking at a Blackbird” 

30 thoughts on “Messy Red – revised

  1. How effortlessly you “capture” woman here – spirit, color, life, soul, blood, energy – all so fabulously well done. I wish I’d written it too! But so glad you did. A personal favorite.

Please leave a comment

