Harbour

The street runs like a dark mist,
rain swiftly catches cold,
streetlights grab the sidewalk,
an embrace of stone necessity.

A hooded faceless figure
throws a still glowing cigarette
into the flowing gutter – phssst
– extinguished now
they ride the pipes together
to the underworld.

A lonely rat sniffs a roller-door,
whiskers slick against his cheeks,
I step aside and find the moon
on the other side of my umbrella.

Strains of cheerful chatter
beckon from just around the corner,
with purpose now, I stride afresh
towards the harbour of my love’s face.

11 thoughts on “Harbour

  1. I like that sudden switch from noir to light, hope and safe harbour in love…so well done! No one does noir better than you…engages and grips. Great write!

  2. ha. what a trip…love that fist stanza and the personification, it sets the scene really well…heard the cig wink out as well….guess you got to get through the grit to get to love eh? smiles.

  3. just love the images….my fav…A lonely rat sniffs a roller-door,
    whiskers slick against his cheeks,
    I step aside and find the moon
    on the other side of my umbrella….wonderful…

Please leave a comment

