A Ray of Light

You walked into the room – a ray of light,
your masquerade costume, my ray of light.

You whispered, “my beloved”, my heart soared,
Your face, a precious bloom – a ray of light.

Unworthy feelings banished, I flew high
Above the deepest gloom, your ray of light.

We lightly tripped together, love’s pavanne,
Breathless; into my womb, new ray of light.

And those who doubt love’s transforming magic,
Sweep them clean with a broom, heart’s ray of light.

And if dark days descend on you, my love,
Then I would expel your doom, dear ray of light.

My soul is bound with crimson threads to yours,
Many summers on life’s loom – love’s ray of light.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Do visit dVerse for Samuel Peralta’s (aka Semaphore) wonderful post on the Ghazal as a form. This is the first time I have attempted to write a ghazal. It was very challenging to say the least.

Here is an extract from Samuel’s explanation of the form:

“Ghazals are beautiful poems, originating in Arabic verse from the sixth century, written traditionally about poetically physical or spiritual love, with a melancholic air of separation or longing.

Made famous in the Western world by the modern translations of works by Rumi and Hafiz, these translations unfortunately have been the source of much confusion over what a ghazal is.

Classic ghazals have a strict form and structure – similar to a Petrarchan sonnet. In trying to be faithful to the ancient poet’s words and expression, translators had to forego the structural framework of the classical ghazal in English.”

 This is my attempt to remain true to the form. I couldn’t get my name into the last couplet

FormForAll: On Ghazals and the Ghazal Sonnet

24 thoughts on “A Ray of Light

  1. And if dark days descend on you my love,
    I would expel your doom with my ray of light

    smiles…i like the heart in that much…beautifully done to form marousia…the soul bound with crimson thread as well…nice…

  2. The ghazal is already full of structural constraints, and the longer the refrain, the more difficult the challenge. Here, despite setting up that challenge for yourself, you face up to it with creativity and inventiveness. The best part, for me at least, is that you manage to have a narrative arc in this that shows the development of the characters in the poem, from first meeting to a promise for eternity.

  3. We talk of poems ‘working’ but it’s often difficult to describe why they do or do not work. This beautiful love poem ‘worked’ for me because it took me back to its roots … I smelled Arabic perfume as I read your words & saw the lovestruck pleas in your eyes. And as Samuel mentions, shades of Rumi in there too … & a hint of Tagore. Beautiful ~*

  4. You got me hooked with ‘life’s loom’. Even though our place has looms and loom equipment everywhere, I had never made that connection. A handsome piece of spiritual cloth was woven here.

  5. You have woven this ghazal beautifully; each stanza stands alone, but the whole tells the story of a powerful love – a strong bond between two people that you want to maintain. Gorgeous. I wsh I could write like this….

Please leave a comment

