A Place Closeby

I move along
the ground, balancing on each
leg in turn.

On golden stalks
ripening seeds catch the wind
in a thoroughfare,

I am arrested,
compelled to stop and listen
with my eyes,

I hear sounds,
traffic in the shopping strip,
punctuated white noise,

I have walked
here many times catching light,
imagining noir scenes,

the warehouse arches
its rusty corrugated iron back
into blue sky,

I venture closer,
there is a surprising absence
of human voices

and no graffiti
shouting from the rendered walls
stained with decades.

A drainpipe slithers
breaking it into almost halves,
balance is precarious.

Poetic inspiration: dVerse– FormForAll: La Lune (Collum) w/ Semaphore

32 thoughts on “A Place Closeby

  1. compelled to stop and listen
    with my eyes,…ah i love that…mixing the senses, but so true…the drain pipe slithering as well….great touch….nicely done…each could stand alone but linked so well marousia…

  2. “balance is precarious” Isn’t that the truth?

    This is my favorite part:
    “and no graffiti
    shouting from the rendered walls
    stained with decades.”

  3. fantastic description – lifting the ordinary to the sparkling!

    BTW, I changed two words in my poem — making your comment not fit well — sorry, but your comment helped me think of the change I wanted. Thanx.

  4. The mundane made darkly magical – you’ve captured both the lune form and the Japanese aesthetic that underlies it very well here in your description of an urban environment we all too often fail to notice.

  5. Beautiful sensory piece. I love the image of the alley cat as “the warehouse arches its rusty corrugated iron back into blue sky”. I also like the way the poem begins with balance and ends with balance, albeit a precarious one.

  6. This is truly beautiful. I love how you have written a succession of lunes together describing a scene in such a sense-ual way…. Next time I try writing lunes, I am going to try to do the same as you.

    Now I am going to see if this will post in your blog!

Please leave a comment

