Brave Loulou

Aircon hums
in the corner,
outside the sun
beats its chest,
birds hide in shade,
the air is empty
of butterflies;
a little cat, Loulou
dashes inside
dishevelled,
collar lost
panting,
unable to speak;
her bother
solicitously sniffs,
she hisses
tears fill her eyes
as she conveys
an outrageous
invasion
by the cat who lives
over the road.

Skitty and haunted
she meets my eyes,
eat and drinks
then roams
tail swishing.

I get a metal ruler,
we make for the piano,
she couches beside it
ready to pounce
on the treasures
I sweep outside.

We encounter something
quite sticky,
a melted candy cane
then a family
of catnip mice,
she plays delighted
with toys she
had hidden before
watched over
by me and her brother.

7 thoughts on “Brave Loulou

  1. Hi Marousia, just popping in to let you know that I have nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award – please visit my blog for more information. Enjoy! ~ Julie 🙂

  2. Hi again, I have also nominated Things I Think I Thunk for the Versatile Blogger Award – please visit my blog for more information. Enjoy! ~ Julie 🙂

  3. awwww so sweet …I have not a cat but a little dog called lulu shes not much bigger than a big cat …really enjoyed this little tale of your loulous’ adventure thank you x

  4. I’m reading a few of your poems this morning. I discovered you on dVerse and hadn’t ever read any of your works before. I like them. You weave fine tales with your words. I will be back!

Please leave a comment

