Country Dreaming

Shall I sit dreaming of bucolic scenes
Where Autumn dresses in her russet gown;
Low sun beams bathe the world in golden sheens
Harvests all brought in, the fields rest in brown;
The sun tracing a lower arc each day,
At night, I’d don a shawl against the chill,
I dream of barns lined with sweet lucerne hay
And the soft swooshing of a water mill
But now we live with electricity,
Factory food on supermarket shelves,
My dreams seem a quaint eccentricity;
Next, they say I’ll be dancing with the elves,
Yet such scenes are deep embedded notions
Of romantic poets and their potions.

#NaPoWriMo 24

13 thoughts on “Country Dreaming

  1. Marousia … I found your sonnet retweeted by Beez on Twitter. It is well done indeed, and the picture is endearing …Clara

  2. I loved this..!!
    This one is amongst the best ones for this theme..

    The title- “Country Dreaming” fits aptly!

    Next, they say I’ll be dancing with the elves,
    Yet such scenes are deep embedded notions
    Of romantic poets and their potions.. it says it all.. 😀

    Many Hugs
    xoxox

Please leave a comment

